North Central Library District Advisory Council By-Laws

Membership:

- The District Advisory Council (DAC) shall consist of 16 members, one member representing each county when that county has a library system in place, and one member representing each state-aided library in counties with no system in place. One member shall represent the District Center Board (The James V. Brown Library)
- 2. The DAC shall consist of at least 5 librarians and 5 trustees. Members-at-large from the public may serve on the DAC if elected to serve by their sponsoring library or system.
- 3. Ex-officio members of the DAC staff shall be the District Consultant(s), District Administrator (Director of the James V. Brown Library). Other District Center staff shall participate in DAC meetings as needed.
- 4. Vacancies shall be filled in the interim between meetings by the library or system where the vacancy exists. The District Consultant shall assist in making contacts if necessary. If a library fails to name a representative to the council within 60 days of the notification of their ability to do so, that vacancy can be filled by the DAC with a person of their choice.

Terms of Service:

DAC members shall serve two-year terms beginning in October. Representation will rotate from a librarian rep to a trustee rep every two years if possible.

Officers:

- 1. There shall be a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, and a Secretary.
- 2. Officers shall be elected annually with successive terms allowed.
- 3. The Chairperson shall conduct the meetings. The Chairperson shall not be a staff member or trustee from the District Center.
- 4. The District Consultant is responsible to the Chairperson for agenda development, disposition of minutes, arrangement of meetings, notices, and schedules.

Committees:

- 1. Ad hoc committees shall be appointed by the Chairperson for specific purposes as they arise.
- 2. Ad hoc committees shall disband upon completion of the task for which they were created.

3. Standing committees shall be appointed by the DAC as needed and may include non-members of the DAC. The continuing education committee will work with District Center Staff to plan quarterly district continuing education meetings.

Meetings:

- 1. The DAC will meet three times annually to review the district budget, help develop and review the district long-range plan, review policies, services and programs, and approve appropriate grants that benefit the district.
- 2. When the library or system rep cannot attend a meeting then they are asked to send a substitute.
- 3. Regularly meetings will generally be held in March, June, and October. When possible meeting locations will rotate between the District Library Center, and a northern tier and southern tier library. Special or additional meetings may be called by the Chairperson as needed or by request of at least five DAC members.
- 4. When two consecutive absences of a rep or substitute occur without and an acceptable cause, the seat is deemed vacant and a new member will be appointed by the appropriate library or system.

Voting procedures:

- 1. A quorum shall be defined as at least 50% of the voting members.
- 2. Mail, telephone, email, or proxy votes shall be allowed.
- 3. Matters that are voted on shall require a majority to pass.
- 4. Council members may vote to amend the by-laws at any time.

County Representation:

Bradford	1
Snyder	1
Lycoming	1
Potter	1
Tioga	1
Sullivan	1
Montour	1
Clinton	1
C 1 1:	2

Columbia 3 Berwick, Bloomsburg

Union 1

Northumberland 4 Sunbury, Northumberland, Milton, McEwensville

James V. Brown Lib 1

Approved on November 19, 2014 by the District Advisory Council

Bradford County		
	Lea Chisum Chaffee	
Snyder County	Pam Ross	
Lycoming County		
	Kathy Butler	
Potter County		
Tioga County	Leslie Wishard	
Tioga County	Lis Miranda	
Sullivan County		
M	Alan Miller	
Montour County	Kathleen McQuiston	
Clinton County	Taumeen Meguiston	
	Tammy Garrison	
Columbia County (Bloomsburg)	T 1' 77 1	
Lydia Kegler Columbia County Traveling library		
Columbia County Traveling nerally_	Ammon Young	
Columbia County (Berwick)		
Union County	Christine Curley	
Union County	Roberta Greene	
Northumberland County (Degenstein)		
	Jill Fecker	
Northumberland County (Priestley)_	Jeff Johnstonbaugh	
Northumberland County (Milton)	Jen Johnstonbaugh	
Tronus Cirana County (minon)	Olivia Masser	
Northumberland County (Montgomery House)		
Iamas V. Provin Library	JA Babay	
James V. Brown Library John Confer		